Basically Beautiful #rant?

DSCN6157

I’ve been called a basic white girl plenty of times, believe me.
And let’s be honest, it fits. Right now I’m sitting in Starbucks, bundled in an XL hoodie (with a starbucks logo on it, go figya!), and I got here via a Honda with the sun roof and windows open while dancing to  loud music. But of course, I am drinking a spunky iced coffee–because pumpkin spice lattes, delicious as they are, are ridiculously expensive here. And the hoodie I’m wearing wasn’t stolen from my nonexistant boyfriend–I designed it myself with the Starbucks logo and the quote from Thor: “This drink, I like it, another!” But before you move me from the basic white girl category to the nerd group, I must confess that I did listen to Taylor Swift earlier. And sing. And dance.
Yes, I’m a white girl.
And yes, if wearing scarves and drinking coffee and wearing pumpkin perfume and liking fall makes me basic, then yeah, I’m pretty basic.
I don’t mind the label. Most of the time it’s cute. It makes a nice hashtag, and for people who are into that sort of thing, a nice Snapchat note.
But. BUT.
I think the problem is when people own the label. When that becomes who they are.
Let’s break this down. Basic white girl.
Am I basic? Hehe, as I sip my Starbucks, I reply “yeahhhh.”
Am I white? If I were any paler I’d be translucent.
Am I a girl? Yep.
On any medical exam or college or job application, you have to answer questions like that. You have to claim a gender, a race, a profession, a marital status, an address, and a past history. You have to define yourself with yes and no questions, and with stereotypical words devoid of any meaning.
And because that is how society tells us to define ourselves–white, black, asian, male, female, skinny, fat, hot, ugly, talented, failure, cheat, gamer, nerd, jock, old, young–that is how we define other people.
Think about that!
I’m not saying those words aren’t true. The fact that we use them so much demands that they be somewhat true.
But ask yourself, is that one word all that you are?! All that you use to guide you? To look at yourself in the mirror and answer the question of your purpose and identity?
YOU ARE MORE.
You were made for a greater purpose than to verify a stereotype.
In closing, yeah I’m a basic white girl. The picture that I took– the “I love fall” shot of my jean-clad legs and feet surrounded by a background of grass–it’s typical basic behavior. But notice, there’s no leaves in the picture. Just pure green grass. And I’m wearing my ugly black working shoes. No Ugg boots for this girl.
Why? Because I am more than the typical behavior of “basic.”
I AM MORE.

🙂 this post written for all the other basic girls out there who are enjoying pumpkin spice lattes and the colors of fall. You’re basically beautiful.

Leave a Reply

