Unfolding the Story (Part 1)

bf9b7e22eb4d11e282fd22000a9d0df2_7

A couple days ago, I was talking to a friend who seemed generally down on life. The convo went pretty much like, “I hate my job. I hate school. And I have lots of ideas but I don’t see them happening…you guys are going to move on with your lives and go places, and I’m going to be stuck here, doing the same things I’ve always done.” You may think my friend is just a pessimist who needs to count his blessings backwards from one to ten, but I think that his feelings are legitimate. I’ve said similar things before at different stages in my life when absolutely nothing was working out. It pretty much seemed like “well I blew the past, the present really stinks, and I don’t see any part of the future that I dreamed of.”
If you are feeling down on your dreams, don’t let anyone tell you that you are “just grumpy” or “just a pessimist” or “need to get over yourself.” Those disappointments are real, they are tangible, they resonate within the soul.
They remind me of the opening of Stephen Curtis Chapman’s song Glorious Unfolding.

Lay your head down tonight
Take a rest from the fight
Don’t try to figure it out
Just listen to what I’m whispering to your heart
‘Cause I know this is not
Anything like you thought
The story of your life was gonna be
And it feels like the end has started closing in on you
But it’s just not true
There’s so much of the story that’s still yet to unfold

It’s like working for years and years only to find your hands empty in the end. It’s pouring your life into your friends and family to end up alone. It’s working hard for a career only to have technology and the economy maneuver away from your dream. It’s thinking that you found the love you always dreamed of, and then of watching the whole thing burn down. It’s waking up every morning and doing something you hate with no exit sign in sight. It is a lack of hope, and that sucks the passion right out of anything.
Maybe you’re over there nodding your head like “Story of my life!”
Well story of my life too. 🙂
Remember though…the real story hasn’t even begun yet. The best really is yet to come!
Now you may be calling me an eternal optimist, but just sip your coffee and think about it for a moment. What harm does having hope really do? Even if it’s not in this life, if it’s for eternity? Is it going to kill you to admit that there are good things left?
I’d like to talk more about this later, but right now I have to scoot. This probably sounded like one very unorganized bit of brain vomit, ah well. I could use a bit of a glimpse into the greater story as well this morning–and not really because my life is falling apart because it isn’t. Maybe you’re in the same boat as me. It was a bit of a rough evening–panic attack, probably prompted by low blood sugar, thinking too much, and a biology lab that was overdue–and then a lack of sleep and a really bad hair day (all the ladies feel me?). Maybe that’s you too.
Just wait.
Maybe your story will unfold a bit today amid all the daily muck.

And it feels like the end has started closing in on you
But it’s just not true
There’s so much of the story that’s still yet to unfold

🙂 Have a great day folks

Leave a Reply

