Updates + The Theme

DSCN6367 (2)

“On the fourth day of Christmas, my true love gave to me _______________”
Can you fill in the blank? I don’t know about you, but last Wednesday I didn’t receive four calling birds from my mythical knight in shining armor. More like four days of sneezing, three Kleenex boxes, two sudafeds, and a mug full of raspberry tea….
Needless to say, it’s been an interesting week. On Friday, I had a doctor’s appointment about an hour from my hometown. After that was done, I drove back to my city, picked up my friends, and drove another hour to a Christmas concert. THEN, I drove back home, slept for a bit, and then went to work 7-2 at my job. It was busy, and there was a line out the door for three hours straight, but we killed it like a boss. đŸ˜€ There’s nothing like the thrill of a challenge, and nothing like the feeling of victory that comes afterward…
But, despite the thrills, life is still unbelievably hard. On one of my drives, I was staring out the window at the stretches of pine trees–still green through the chill–and I started thinking about all the pains I have witnessed lately…

I thought of three friends that have lost a mom or a dad this year…
About the eight children that were stabbed to death earlier this week in Australia…
About my neighbor, who lost his wife earlier this year and recently found out that he has pancreatic cancer…
About the second anniversary of the Newtown massacre…
About the girl my age who was attacked at a gas station and burned alive…
About the older man who comes into my workplace, sits at the front table, and cries because he can no longer share breakfast with his wife, who passed away several months ago…
About my friend’s sister, who was attacked and  robbed at her apartment…

And aside from the deaths and sicknesses, the smaller things that make it so hard to keep going…

A friend who broke up with his girlfriend a week after their engagement…
A girl who came home from college only to find that her parents were getting divorced, and hadn’t told her anything…
A friend who is in love with someone who lets her down over and over and over again….
A friend whose family member has broken the bond of trust through lies, deceit, and violence…
The person who graduated college at the top of her class as a PA, but now works at a fast food restaurant because she can’t find a job…
The single mom who works her back off to provide, but it never seems to be enough….
The woman who has lost a marriage because her husband took advantage of her faithfulness…

These are real people, real stories. They all continue to prove that life is a mess. It is darkness, and despair, and loneliness, and terrible pain. It cannot be drowned out, or tucked away, or buried inside, or escaped through busyness. At the end of the day, the hardest parts of life will always be there.
I wrote about this awhile ago in my post “The Hardest Thing.” It is the most popular thing I have written on this blog, and because of that, it is the theme for this week. I explained in my former post that the hardest thing for me was watching people suffer and not being able to do anything about it. Being helpless. Useless.
But there are other hard things too…and right now as I end this post, I want you to ask yourself:
For you, what is the hardest thing?

Leave a Reply

