Love is the Hardest Thing

74f221d74f3bbbffe801d0d3400af882

“…yeah, I’m still praying for you. If all Christians “saved their prayers for someone we won’t hurt” then we would never be able to pray. Because whoever you love, you will disappoint and wound them deeply at some point. Like I said in my last post…real love doesn’t break God’s word…it is not just a feeling…it is not a fairy tale. Real love is a battle, and wounds are incurred…but it also brings healing and restoration…”
For those of you that have followed me for awhile, you might remember me posting the previous paragraph together with the above quote in “Some Things Everyone Needs to Know”, a post which captured the turning point of last year. Since that point, I have thought alot more about love. What is it? How is it expressed? What does it mean? What happens when it gets hard? Is it ever okay to give up?
The only thing I have learned is that there is so much more to that word than what I thought.
LOVE.
What does it make you think of? What does it mean to you?
When I was younger, I would have told you that it meant princesses, roses, hugs and kisses, marriage, picnics, smiles, and holding hands….
Last year, I would have told you that it meant sacrificing everything for someone, even when no one else agrees with my choices….
Now…now I would tell you that I am searching to find out what that word means. I know that I got it all wrong. Love does include hugs and kisses and roses and smiles. It does mean sacrifice. But that is only scratching the bare surface of everything that it is–everything that it means.
Right now, I know that love is hard. I know that it goes beyond a feeling, a daydream, or a storybook ending. Love marches on even when passion ends, and in the troughs of battle and temperal life it survives the fire. Love is paradoxical in that it is feelings, it is desire, but it is also action…and if either of those elements are wanting, love ceases to exist. But as majestic a thought as love is, even though it was fashioned by the Creator, who is defined in every action by love itself….the word does not find its home in the hearts of philosophers and daydreamers. It finds its home in the eyes of a mother who would rather sacrifice her desire to keep her child safe…it exists in the heart of a husband who works through the rough stretches of a dying marriage…it is in the pastor who gives of his time in order to feed his congregation…it is in the child who honors his parents even when he does not agree…it is in the woman who is tired but still agrees to help a coworker out with their tasks…it is in the teacher who gives hard advice but also offers open arms…it is in the one who dares to speak truth even when it hurts…it chooses right over wrong even when it costs….Love exists in the minds, hearts, and wills of all those who say “I’ve seen the ugly parts of you, and I’m staying.”
Love is what it does. But love does, because it is.
And it is the hardest thing that exists in this world. But I think that is the reason why “Love bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Love never ends.” (1 Corinthians 13:7-8a)
It is the hardest thing, but it endures. It is one of the few things in this world that last through both pain and happiness. And because it endures, it is worth it all.
I still have much left to learn. But that, right now, is my understanding of love. ❤
What is yours? 🙂

Leave a Reply

