The Class of 2015

classof2015Sunlight minced with stratus
skipping off our blue gowns draped with gold
on saturday the 16th of may.
v-hood on backwards and cap tilted to a side
i stood in line
second of three hundred.
they helped me prepare, told me to relax,
but i fidgeted with my tassel and worried
about who would hold my purse as i
walked
second of three hundred.
the grass was green on that day, 16th of may,
but it had not always been.
the first semester was copasetic,
the second was a blur,
the third was recovery,
the fourth was victory.
these people, tiny people in a tiny town in this tiny school
my teachers and leaders…
they taught me to dream.
they taught me what Maude Gonne said to Yeats
that broke his heart;
they showed me how to find a simple random sample
without bias;
they taught me how to give a five-minute speech about
writing and not fall apart;
they taught me how to take notes, give a lecture,
talk to strangers, and make citations.
they cared about me,
second of three hundred.
they taught my heart that
big things happen in small places,
blessings are in the unexpected,
and my little town is my whole world.
they loved me
enough to ask about my past
enough to encourage my future.
on may 16th i was second of three hundred,
and most of them i didn’t know.
but the ones i did are my soul-sisters and brothers
who drank coffee with me when i cried last year,
who stood and talked for hours in the parking lot
after a hard test made us think about life.
we carried eachother through,
little people in a little town dreaming of a bigger world.
This place taught me to love again
to live
to let go
to move on
to believe
to speak
to hope
and as second of three hundred i could feel the tears coming
as i sat in my spot and listened to him sing
about saying goodbye but not forgetting.
and then we walked, one by one,
they said some names right and some wrong,
the stage was a blur of blue and gold
and i was second of three hundred.
afterward, we hung around and drank punch and took pictures
and i saw how i had grown.
Old me would have sat in the shadows and lived with the regret
of not saying farewell to the people i love,
new me hugged my friends
said thank you to congratulations.
new me chased after my
professor as he walked away, so i could tell him
thank you for changing my life.
and then it was over.
the courtyard began to clear
and the chocolate lei
my friend made would soon melt in the sun.
so i walked away
from two years of memories
with a breaking heart
because i finally realized
that dreams are not the picture in our heads
but rather the steps we take
through thick and thin
that after miles of travel and heartbreak and memory
we reach the end of one path
and begin again.

“For everything there is a season, and a time for every matter under heaven:…what gain has the worker from his toil? I have seen the business that God has given to the children of man to be busy with. He has made everything beautiful in its time. Also, He has put eternity into man’s heart, yet so that he cannot find out what God has done from the beginning to the end.” (Ecclesiastes 3:1, 9-11)

5 comments

  1. Always meant to comment on this post after it hit my mailbox. It’s so beautifully written i felt like I was graduating with you.
    Hope this isn’t late? Congratulations and have an awesome life!

Leave a Reply

