Hello

butterflies

“Hello from the other side,
I must’ve called a thousand times
To tell you that I’m sorry, for everything that I’ve done
But when I call you never seem to be home…”

Hello, all! Because I am currently loving Adele’s new song, I decided it would be a good opening for my MIA post. Indeed, I think it’s been about two weeks since I posted “When”–and a crazy amount of stuff has happened in between now and then.
For one, I had my first poetry reading.
Hurrah!
I got to dress up in a recital dress and pin up my short hair in order to go read a poem at a local art gallery. It was chilly outside, and I was running through the cold with my Mom to make it on time. There were a million people down-town that night, some for the art exhibits, others for the beer. And did I mention it was chilly? At any rate, the event was a mix between glitzy high society and Southern hospitality. I felt my heart drop into my stomach when they called my name. And as I stood at the front of the room, speaking into a mike, I felt like Anne of Green Gables reciting “The Highwayman” at the White Sands social.
There was that.And another thing….I might be working as an editorial intern for my university’s poetry magazine in the Spring. Once again, when I found out about this opportunity it was a heart-drops-to-stomach moment–one of those times when I look at the sunset and think I could spread my wings and just soar into the clouds.
It is funny that I previously thought that I would hate going to school here. That I was missing out, or giving up “the college experience.” Quite conversely, it has turned out to be a dream come true. I have met amazing friends and teachers, learned so much, and received opportunities that I would otherwise never have.
It’s funny how I thought last year that my life would never be the same again.
That was true.
But, “if nothing ever changed, there would be no butterflies.”
Because of last year, these things are much sweeter. My cup is full. My life has taken the wrong turn and come back again, full circle.
I can almost hear my past self calling to my present self, Hello, from the outside….remember all the hurt and lies? And then I can see my present self calling back: Hello from the other side…look how the grief turns to sunlight?
It’s beautiful.
However, there are still struggles. I am asking God to keep me close to Him in this time, because I am so easily distracted. I forget how I got here–who I am and where I came from. I forget Him. I replace Him with other things. I pray for Him to help me remember eternity and Himself, and for that to be my motivation, not my own glory.
And I move forward.
I have some ideas for a new series coming soon–something akin to The Voices of Alone–which some of you may remember.
Until then, thank you for reading.
Hello.

(featured image from http://www.clipartbest.com/butterfly-line-drawing and quote pic from  http://christinacoleromance.com/category/from-christina/)

Leave a Reply

