elevator

otis elevator buttons
(image from www.elevator-buttons.com )

*elevator opens*
“What floor you going to?”
“Two. Gotta get some coffee before my meeting.”
“Starbucks? Ew. Sorry, I just don’t do coffee.”
“I don’t blame you. I didn’t get into it until I started at the office.”
“You work in town?”
“Nah, just here for a conference.”
“Sounds nice. Wish I was just here on vacay.”
“Well, it’s not exactly like that….hey though, what’s your name?”
“Kat. Nice to meet you Ian.”
“How’d you…oh my namtag. I keep forgetting that’s on. At least it helps them get the name right on my coffee cup.”
“For sure.”
*elevator opens, people go in and out, elevator closes*
“Hey, do you want to go get a drink later?”
“Can’t. I’m married, sorry.”
“Not like that, I meant. Like friends? Cause you know we just met…”
“It never ends up just being that.”
“Gotcha. Well your husband, is he a good man?”
“I’ll answer that when you tell me about your fiance.”
“How…?!”
“Lucky guess. Eh, not really. I saw a flash of a text on your phone when you first walked in. That was her contact name.”
“Ah. Well, sorry. You know I wasn’t hitting on you, right? It just gets lonely sometimes–all this travel.”
“That’s what the last guy said too.”
“Another guy in the elevator?”
“Yeah, my husband.”
“Oh.”
“Ten days and we were hitched. And then the curtain drops and you see who everyone really is..”
*elevator opens, one person gets out*
“I’m sorry about that.”
“Think before you get married. Do that for me, kay?”
“Okay. Are you okay? Your hands are shaking.”
“I’m fine. Sorry.”
“I thought you said you were married.”
“What? I am.”
“No ring?”
“Whoops, must have left it in the bathroom.”
“Really?”
“Sorry. I just…get nervous….I’m lonely…it’s usually a good way to get conversation going. I’m not married. I’m single, sorry. I’m sorry.”
“It’s fine. Why did you say no to drinks then?”
“Your fiance is calling.”
“Oh….hi baby, what’s going on? Yeah I’m just getting out of the elevator in Charleston. You wouldn’t believe some of the people I’ve met here so far. Can’t wait to see you later. Love you, bye!”
*elevator door closes*
“Goodbye.”

Leave a Reply

